New Rules of Marketing: It’s Got No Strings (Wires, that is) to Hold It Down

As mentioned in my last post, my New Media course’s online discussions have focused on marketing channels that we feel will become obsolete in the future.  The Labor Day weekend allotted me some quality time to get reacquainted with my Playstation 3 video game system which I’ve had little time to play in recent past with career obligations and coursework.  As I booted up the system, I was thinking about how marketing continues to evolve beyond traditional channels and continues to blur delivery platforms.  The Playstation 3 has itself become a platform for deliverying marketing messages to targeted audiences with no strings (that is, wires) to hold it down.

Like the iPhone, the wireless Bluetooth capabilities offered by the PS3 help to make the system an all-encompassing interactive experience that’s ripe for the inclusion of marketing messages. Further, platforms such as this will help to make more traditional media and marketing platforms obsolete, which ties in with discussion post debates from class.  I predict that more single sources for all interactive communications will continue to emerge as wireless capabilities make options endless and untethered. 

From the iPhone to PS3, consumers no longer need to maintain separate address books of contacts, land line telephones, wired video game and DVD systems for entertainment, separate computers for browsing the web, social media and chat tools, etc., etc.  Everything is delivered in one place with a single hub point for access, complete with links to the Playstation store, for example, which succinctly incorporates an e-commerce engine into the gaming platform.  Each channel that stems from the hub offers marketers unique ways to interact with and reach out to customers.  It goes beyond simple reach and frequency to authentic user interactions that capture attention and entertain.

Even within specific games, users can jump online wirelessly and purchase avatar upgrades and other enhancements to their entertainment experience.  All this translates into multiple ways in which marketers can deliver messages seamlessly and unobtrusively if done right. 

Looking back 20 years, when Mario reigned king and, as a child, I couldn’t conceive of graphics, processing power, etc. getting any more “awesome and realistic” than the 8-bit Nintendo, it’s amazing to see how technology has again changed the game.  Technology has moved beyond simple in-game marketing promotion and corresponding offline methods, like a print ad in Nintendo Power magazine, for example, to two-way, integrated marketing communications that solicit feedback from consumers.  With wireless, such feedback is often real time.  How far we’ve come from the wired past which offered one-way marketing message delivery.

3 Responses to “New Rules of Marketing: It’s Got No Strings (Wires, that is) to Hold It Down”

  1. For some reason this post has made me feel like I’m an old soul trapped in a 20-something’s body. Don’t get me wrong, I adore all the latest gadgets and the fact that a telephone can serve as a computer, jukebox, television, and gaming system. But I still hold onto yesteryear whenever I can. I have a record player in my home, for goodness sake! Not to mention Super Nintendo and Atari 2600 systems. (Who needs a PS3 when you’ve got Pac-Man!?) I just a few months ago made the leap to an iPod after claiming for the longest while that I preferred my good, old-fashioned CDs. Now I haven’t bought one since! I adore my iPod! Aaah, technology – gotta love it!

    But I’m still keeping the Atari…

    Matt B.

  2. Hey Matt,

    I also still have my old 8-bit nintendo and Atari 2600 and dust them off ever now and again. Like you, I held out for a long time on getting a cell phone and MP3 player. I still mainly use the PS3 for its Blu-Ray capabilities. It really does have an overwhelming number of options and a controller that continues to become more complex. Ahh, to simpler times…

Leave a Reply

